top of page


"And God Wept" (2021)
for violin and piano

commissioned and performed by Megan Roth and Julia Carey for Juneteenth 2021

As God looked upon on the celebration on June 19, 1865, he wept tears of joy for this moment of liberation. Yet, he wept tears of great sorrow for many mountains of oppression that African American had still yet to climb and the valleys of ever evolving and ill-fated promises rooted in racism that he would faithfully guide them through.

Here we stand over 100 years later still fighting for an America, a world in which we can finally be free of systemic oppression and racism; a world in which we can just be peacefully.


A Lover's Waltz (2021) a movement from, Sounds of Our Past
for string quartet

illustrates the journey of a Holocaust survivor as she recalls the love shared and waltzes danced with her partner, while at the same time facing the atrocity that changed their lives forever.

Performed by the Julius Quartet in the EMERGE Workshop


A Mother's Cry (2020)
For violin solo

Performed by Caitlin Edwards

originally written for and premiered by cellist, Susan Mayo of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra

Scored excerpt from short film,
"And Then I Run"

scored for cello and piano

performed by Del'Shawn Taylor

and Denise Kuehner, cellist in South Bend Symphony Orchestra


bottom of page